Advanced Disaster Life Support AAR

ADLS hosted free-of-charge by Region 2 South of Michigan.
Location: Simulation Center of Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit
Timeframe: 16hrs between April 29-30, 2011
Prereqs: Basic Disaster Life Support

Consisted of didactic lecture and practical exercises.
Lecture topics covered included: Mass Triage, Mass Fatality Management, ICS review, Legal Considerations, Media Comms, Medical Decontamination, Hospitals and Disaster Planning, Meddrun & Chempak procedure, Mark I & Duodote kits, Smallpox immunization

Exercises: Tabletop exercise, Triage Skills/Disaster Drill, PPE/Decon – Tent/PAPR Training, Patient Simulator (x2), Disaster Patient Simulator

Thoughts: Very good course. Covered lots of good stuff, and put me out of my element. Got to do a needle decompression of tension pneumothorax and run a hose through a chest cavity, which is out of my scope of practice. Gave me a fair amount of information that I did not know, and had some well thought out exercises.

Additional Notes: Class is very hard to get into as the registration fills up about 2-3 hours after it opens.

~ by BanditJack on May 9, 2011.

Leave a comment